Kinsale AFC

Official Club Website

About Us

Kinsale AFC was originally formed in 1935. Founded by Charles Gillen, Tom White, John Butler, Gerry Collins, Mike Farley & James Gimblett. Under the stewardship of Mr Liam Bergin they played their football at Camp Hill in Kinsale. 

After toiling in many different pitches down through the years the club finally found its home in the picturesque setting of Charles Fort in Kinsale after approaching the Council to develop the land in 1985. The club has come along way since both on & off the field. We proudly boast a fantastic new pitch which was renamed Madden Park after our Honoary President Mr Paddy Madden (pictured left). Without Paddys trojan work down through the years the club would not be where itis today.

The club currently has two Junior Men's teams playing in the Cork AUL.

There is also a thriving underage section since 1998 currently catering for over 300 children. Having started modestly in the West Cork League the underage boys section has expanded massively and is now affiliated to the Cork Schoolboys League and the girls league teams are affiliated to the Cork Womens and SchoolGirls Soccer League.

Girls and Boys as young as 6 are catered for by the club. The underage section is now represented at 9 different age groups - U7, U8, U9, U10, U11, U13, U14, U15, U16.

The club has enjoyed unprecedented success in the past ten years at Junior level and this team has gone on to become one the most successful teams in Cork AUL history. Numerous Kinsale players have represented the Cork AUL side in the Oscar Traynor Inter-League Cup with Derek McCarthy, Stephen O'Donovan, Pat O'Regan, Michael Bradfield & Derek Varian picking up winners medals with the Cork AUL side in 2009. That year Derek Varian & Derek McCarthy went on to represent Ireland at Junior level - a tremendous honour for both Kinsale & the two lads.

In January 2016 the Senior and Underage Clubs officially amalgamated to become "Kinsale AFC "